The Torah

The Hebrew word “Torah” is translated as teaching or instruction. The Torah consists of the first five books of the Bible, from Genesis to Deuteronomy, and details the establishment of Israel as a nation under Yahweh. The Torah is comprised of several genres including epics and genealogies and it stretches over huge lengths of time. Some scholars consider Moses the author of all five books, where others believe many have contributed to its pages. Regardless of authorship, the Torah is a work of literary genius, meant to be viewed as a narrative. All five books contribute to one another, were written for the contemporary audience, and teach a singular message: Yahweh is the only God and He’s initiating a fantastic plan of redemption.

In the Torah, you’ll find two main covenants (Noahic and Abrahamic), the Exodus, the Ten Commandments, and more. The Torah follows the narrative of God’s kept promises, which started with Abraham. The Torah is rich with story and should be looked at as a history provided through various literary forms; it reveals humanity’s brokenness, God’s faithfulness, and the beginnings of redemption.

“I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you and make your name great, so that you will be a blessing”

Genesis 12:2

Resources: What to Know